Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin visited the North Pole in April 2015. Photo: Twitter/Rogozin

Rogozin brings Arctic Commission to Murmansk

The presidium of Russia’s State Commission for the Arctic plans to hold its next meeting in Murmansk on March 9.
March 01, 2016


The meeting will be led by Head of the commission, Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin. On the agenda are discussions on a new draft of the state program “Socio-economic development of the Russian Arctic for the period till 2020” and the creation of an integrated transport infrastructure for the Arctic, B-Port writes.

Governor of Murmansk Oblast Marina Kovtun is member of the Commission. The same are the governors of Arkhangelsk Igor Orlov, and Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug Dmitry Kobylkin.

Russia’s Arctic Commission was established in March 2015. Its main objective is to harmonize Russian activities in the Arctic, including the activities of regional authorities and leading companies. The commission has some 60 members, among them four cabinet ministers, the oil and gas industry, the ministry of Defence, the FSB, the Presidential Administration and regional governors.



The Barents Observer Newsletter

After confirming you're a real person, you can write your email below and we include you to the subscription list.

Privacy policy