Sergey Lavrov and Ine Eriksen Søreide. Photo: Thomas Nilsen

Blinken set to meet Lavrov at Reykjavik Arctic Council ministerial, Eriksen Søreide yet to confirm attendance

Efforts to limit the consequences of climate crises will likely top the agenda as the eight Arctic nations, permanent participants and observers meet next month.
April 21, 2021


It was during an online speech about climate changes on Tuesday US Secretary of State, Antony Blinken, confirmed his participation at the upcoming Arctic Council ministerial in Reykjavik on May 19-20.

“I will represent the United States at the next ministerial meeting of the Arctic Council, where I will reaffirm America’s commitment to meet our climate goals and encourage other Arctic nations to do the same.”

Blinken said it all is aimed to build strength before the world is coming together for the UN Climate Change Conference in Glasgow in November.

In the video below, you can see Blinken talk about the Arctic Council at about 0:55. 


Last week, Russia’s Foreign Minister, Sergei Lavrov, confirmed to the Icelandic Foreign Ministry that he intends to participate in person at the Miniserial next month, newspaper Morgunblaðið reported. 


Asked by the Barents Observer about Norwegian participation, Foreign Ministry spokesperson Ane Haavardsdatter Lunde said “no final decision is made”.

Lunde, however, underlined that the main priority for Foreign Minister Ine Eriksen Søreide is to participate in person.

The Icelandic chairmanship of the Arctic Council will facilitate attending the ministerial through teleconferencing equipment for those not flying to the country for pandemic reasons. 


Arctic Council - Quick Facts

Year formed: 1996

Arctic Council Members: Canada, Denmark (Greenland), Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Russia, United States

Permanent Participants: Aleut International Association, Arctic Athabaskan Council, Gwich’in Council International, Inuit Circumpolar Council, Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North, Saami Council

Current Chair:  Iceland (2019-2021)

Upcoming Chair:  Russia (2021-2023)



The Barents Observer Newsletter

After confirming you're a real person, you can write your email below and we include you to the subscription list.

Privacy policy