Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov. Photo: Thomas Nilsen

Lavrov announces stricter entry rules as a new Iron Curtain descends

The Russian foreign minister says a draft presidential decree is being made aimed at restricting entry rules for people from “unfriendly states”.
March 28, 2022


Travel across northern borders will become even more difficult as Russia today announced introduction of retaliatory visa measures.

“This act will introduce a number of restrictions on entry into the territory of Russia,” Sergey Lavrov said in a speech broadcasted by state-owned TV channel Rossiya-24.

The new rules are a retaliatory move in response to other countries’ unfriendly actions, the minister said.

A presidential decree is now being made to amend the law on visa and entry regulations. The new restriction will apply to citizens from Russia’s list of “unfriendly states”, Lavrov said.

For now, the list includes Norway, Iceland, the United States and Canada, the EU states, the UK, Ukraine, Montenegro, Switzerland, Albania, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco, San Marino, North Macedonia, Japan, South Korea, Australia, Micronesia, New Zealand, Singapore, and Taiwan.

There are already entry restrictions on Russia’s land borders to Europe and all flights between EU countries (including Norway and Iceland) and Russia are suspended. On Sunday, the last Allegro train left St. Petersburg for Helsinki.

Nearest open gateways for Russians and Europeans to travel between each other today are via the airports in Belgrade or Istanbul, if not flying via the Middle East or Central- South- or East Asia. 


Less visas will be issued from Russia’s Consulate General in Kirkenes, northern Norway. Here from an anti-war protest the day after Putin’s troops invaded Ukraine. Photo: Thomas Nilsen




The Barents Observer Newsletter

After confirming you're a real person, you can write your email below and we include you to the subscription list.

Privacy policy